1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Great "downgrade" story...for once

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by scuzzy, Feb 17, 2013.

1. scuzzy

scuzzy

I love bass, and although I'm not technically spectacular, I'm picky about my tone. You could throw me into the great gear, crappy bassist category. I play my single-cut 5 at church and "worship" gigs but prefer a 4-string for pop-rock gigs that I play with a friend. My primary 4 string was most recently a killer big Al...
    Due to some rather large student loan debt, I felt it would be best to sell the big Al and downgrade so that I could pay off a chunk. Sadly, an email came and the bass was sold. I was on the search for a new bass. My only knock on the big Al was the rosewood fretboard. I am very partial to maple FB's, and wanted my new bass to have one. I have also always loved the PJ setup. Luckily, I found an LTD vintage 204 on Hello Music and got it for $178. I received it and was blown away by the build quality and the fret dressing. great neck, and the stock pickups had respectable tone, although they lacked on string balance and the "P" had poor sustain.
    [​IMG]