1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Guidance for my first venture into effects

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by rydin4lifebass, Jan 25, 2014.

1. rydin4lifebass

rydin4lifebass

I've been playing bass for a few years and I'm looking to purchase some type of multi-effect processor. I do some recording that involves my bass line along with pre-recorded mp3s. I'm currently just plugging direct into a Tascam DP-008 so I'd like an effects processor to sit between my bass and the Tascam to give me a different range of sounds. I play anything from simple country in which case the direct bass is usually an OK sound but for other stuff like Marilyn Manson or Rob Zombie, I need a dirtier, crunchier tone. I'd also like the unit to have a built in tuner so I can tune while the bass is plugged into the unit instead of relying on a Snark or other type of "plug in" tuner, which is what I'm now using. I really have no experience with effects or anything of this nature so any suggestions or input is greatly appreciated.

2. DirtyDuke

DirtyDuke Supporting Member

3. TBAR Shane

TBAR Shane

Either the Zoom Ms-60b or the Zoom B3 are great options, I use both and they've pretty much become the sole pedals that I rely on.

4. rydin4lifebass

rydin4lifebass

Obviously, the B3 is $100 more that the MS60...has two additional screens...what are the main differences that make the B3 worth the double price tag? Does either have pre-set settings that are aimed to give a certain type of sound, or mimic a certain artist's sound?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BackonBass13

BackonBass13

Personally, I don't like "multi" pedals that do everything...half arsed. I like individual pedals that preserve a better tone. But I'm partial to Boss "multi" units. Never played the Zoom.

7. jumblemind