Guidance needed for Beginner with Bass Goals and Practice Content

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by anandogs, Feb 9, 2013.

1. anandogs

anandogs

Hi All, So just a brief introduction about me before I go off into what help I need:

I have been playing Guitar since the past 6 years and the reason I picked it up was because I love music and wanted to just play some of my favourite songs for myself, my friends, my family etc.

I have always however been more drawn to the more "bassy" less trebly sound - i find it more - for lack of a better word - peaceful. So I picked up the bass guitar this year.

I also wanted to experience what it feels like to perform in front of an audience (big / small doesnt matter). I don't want to generalize but there seemed to be a much greater demand for bassists than guitarists and since I wasn't into any other instruments at that point, I decided to pick up my first bass.

TL;DR my bass goal is to join a band and just play covers - covers that I enjoy playing and covers that can get me to gig. I don't want to create songs (forget improvising!)just yet

With this in mind, this is the practice plan I came up with and I'd like anyone's suggestions on this:

30 Minutes - Pacmans scale / modes method (this can become the theory time in the long run)
    20 Minutes - Practicing technique - Alternate fingerstyle / raking / slapping etc on pre-tabbed songs, (how important is it to do it with a metronome?)
    and depending on availability of time:
    45 Minutes - Studying chord structures of songs I like, figuring out the theory behind it and tabbing a bass line myself

Will this be enough for my goals? Again, I have 6 years of self-taught guitar playing and I have some basic idea of music theory. Any help is appreciated :)
  2. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Depending on what kinda covers, you can get by with just root notes...:bag: