Guitar player picking up the bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by musicalshore, Dec 23, 2012.

1. musicalshore

musicalshore

Hi,

I've been playing guitar for about 25 years, not professionally. The past few years I've really put a lot into it, and I began playing fingerstyle blues. This has gotten me obsessed with rhythm. Someone had given me a nineties MIJ P Bass a few years ago, and I've been playing it quite a bit lately. Previously, I could play bass in a pinch, but I would never call myself a bass player, but now, I would like to call myself a bass player.

Anyone, I'm finding it challenging. Playing guitar, rarely does my hand get tired, but the bass tires my hand out pretty quickly. It's difficult to play in first position without making the bass rattle and/or buzz, and I hate when it rattles and buzzes. Also, fretting with my pinkie requires a lot more control than on the guitar, and I have to stretch further, so that doesn't sound so hot.I record my own music, and it would be really nice to feel competent on a bass (not merely 'adequate').

Any pointers? How long will it take for my hand to "set"? Yes, I know that is kind of a silly question, but consider that I know what I want to do, I just don't have the physical ability to execute...presuming I play an hour a day, how long before playing the bass stops feeling like an endurance test?

2. SBassman

SBassman Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Dealer: PiccoBass Guitar-scale Basses
    Interesting post. To be able to offer help, I'd love to see you play, and I'd love to see how the bass is set up.

You sure your bass doesn't need a nice setup to get that action lower?
    Also, you might want to consider a short scale. You might feel more at home.

3. MrDOS

MrDOS Gold Supporting Member

Assuming the bass does not play like a baseball bat, do some gigs. The stamina will be there in no time: ):thumbup:

4. wcoffey81

wcoffey81