Guitar to bass: Muting the hardest adaptation?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Diamond_Dave, Apr 12, 2014.

1. Diamond_Dave

Diamond_Dave

Hi folks--I've been playing guitar for a little over two years and recently picked up the bass. While many aspects of the guitar carry right over to the bass, it seems to me like the biggest adaptation I'm having to make is muting the strings I'm not playing at all times. I never really needed to worry about that on guitar, whether acoustic or electric, although certainly I could and did do mutes when needed.

Is this a pretty normal thing for guitarists who pick up the bass? Does the whole notion of playing one note at a time and then muting it off just take time and practice for those of us who dabble on the high and low end?

Thanks.
  2. lz4005

lz4005

Yes and yes.
  3. Ronbassman

Ronbassman

I mute the upper strings with the same finger I use while I'm fretting the strings. The lower strings are naturally muted with the plucking fingers.
  4. jeffmensch

jeffmensch Supporting Member Supporting Member

Yes, you've summarized it very well. I found the same challenge making the transition from guitar to bass. It took several months to get this technique down. It becomes more natural over time and eventually you won't even think about it consciously. You'll also find that your guitar playing has improved after playing bass for a while. Playing a different instrument gives you new skills that can be applied to others. Keep up the practise and it will come.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. spz8

spz8

Use the floating thumb technique, if playing finger style on the plucking hand.
  7. oldcatfish

oldcatfish

You didn't play guitar in a loud band context did you? I ask because, muting is very important with guitar too, at loud volumes. And yes, it just takes a little time. Being aware of the issue is 3/4 of the solution, by the way. So don't get frustrated.
    jazzyvee likes this.
  8. lz4005

lz4005