1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Guitarist is after a bass for home studio

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kooky, Jan 9, 2013.

1. Kooky

Kooky

This is my first post here, so hello everybody. Can you let me know what's the best bass for metal? ;) Just kidding, I am however hoping to get a bit of advice. I'm a guitarist and currently looking into getting myself a decent bass for my home recording studio (and maybe for some session work as well). Bassist in my band has a Warwick Thumb 5 string bass which sounds absolutely amazing, is comfortable (I'm loving the neck, thin with strings next to each other), sits well within the mix too. The problem is that it's just too expensive. Bass is not my main instrument and I can't justify the cost. So the question is - is there anything out there that's similar to the Thumb and doesn't cost an arm and leg? I keep monitoring ebay for second hand thumbs but so far all of them were too expensive.

Thanks!

2. MoscowRadio

MoscowRadio

You might want to look into an Ibanez SR505 or a five string jazz bass. The Ibanez has two active humbucking pickups with a 3-band EQ. The jazz has two single coil pickups and most models are passive though some active models exist.

3. ggvicviper

ggvicviper Call me Marc or Marky Potatoes. Gold Supporting Member

You may also want to check out a Warwick Rockbass Corvette Basic if you find Warwicks comfortable and you like the sound. It won't quite get you the German made sound, though.

They make an active version and a passive.

4. TheMightyWoot1

TheMightyWoot1

+1 on the Ibanez SR505. Had one for a few years and gigged with it regularly until I used it as a trade towards my G&L. It was a VERY comfy bass, and sounded great.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member