GUT STRING SUPPLIERS

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by bopit01, Apr 2, 2014.

1. bopit01

bopit01

Apologies if this has been topic of previous discussion, but I couldnt find it. I am just wondering where you guys source your gut strings.

I have been using CLEF strings from Upton Bass for about 10 years and prior to that was using Lenzner strings. I've also tried those cheap Indian made ones that are available on Ebay, but prefer the Lenzner and Cleff

One of the best strings I had was just a one off that I bought years ago - but I've never been able to find a full set - that was LaBella brand - but I dont think they make gut anymore.

I have been playing full gut strings for a long time, but looks like my string supply is running low.

Anyhow, I've read a few other brand names around these forums and I was just wondering where are the best/cheapest full gut strings.

Prefer online supplier, as I am located in Australia.

Just wondering peoples preference, and more importantly suppliers.

Hope you can help

Cheers
  2. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

Clef strings are marginal. LaBellas are pretty lame. Gamut is about as good as it gets these days, but they're not cheap. Pirastro Chorda Carlos Henriquez are also excellent and also expensive.

If price is an object, lurk and grab vintage guts when they become available. I've bought incredible strings for short money, but you need to be very patient.
  3. bopit01

bopit01

Thankyou my friend, Yes price is always a determining factor in my purchase until such time as I win that lottery.

If you have a supplier for those Gammut strings I'd appreciate it.

I"ve never found any vintage gut string bargains yet but ill keep my eyes out

As price seems to be my determining factor i may just have to stick with the cleff or lenzner for now

thanks anyhow _ kind regards
  4. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

gamutmusic.com. Take a deep breath before you look at the price list and remember that good guts can last for decades.