Had My First DB Lesson Today

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by afzoomie67, Oct 25, 2012.

1. afzoomie67

afzoomie67

So, since May or so, my bass teacher and I have been talking about me starting DB. I've been playing electric bass for 4 years now, and I always liked DB's and I finally got around to playing one. My first though was "the neck is huge." I slowly got used to the size of the neck and body, and the radiused [DEL]fretboard[/DEL] fingerboard. My intonation was so off, too. It was funny. I figured out where the notes went though, it's so much harder with no dots or lines. And then, after I got some pizzicato down, he goes "Ready to play with the stick?" meaning the bow and I'm like "Uh, sure." And he handed it to me, and I immediately griped it improperly. We spent the next five minutes discussing how to hold it properly and he showed me, and then I finally figured it out. And then he goes, "Play the open strings" and at first, I bowed on the neck, which resulted in a terrible sound. Then, I self-corrected myself and moved down, figuring that if the strings had more room to vibrate, they'd sound better. And they did. And so he was impressed. Following this, he tells me that I should play the notes (I learned the open strings, plus the lowest 3 on the string) and I did with ease. He said my left-hand technique was great, which was nice to hear, as I've been taking a couple guitar lessons lately. After that, I had to go back to class.
    So yeah! Overall, it was totally awesome and I love it. It's going to take a ton of work though. And I know I'm just "okay" on electric, but to be "okay" on DB is going to take FOREVER. Sorry that this is so long, I just felt the need to share.

2. halfjackson

halfjackson Supporting Member