1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Hartke Kickback 12 vs Ashdown Five Fifteen

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by kbakerde, Nov 14, 2012.

Which Amp to Buy

1. Hartke Kickback 12 - 120w - $100 used

35 vote(s)
    81.4%
  2. Ashdown Five Fifteen - 100w - $229 new

8 vote(s)
    18.6%
  1. kbakerde

kbakerde Supporting Member

Media:
    Hey all,
    I am soliciting opinions from the TBers on a new amp. For a background, I have been playing bass for a while, not very good, but I just started playing again with other people. I am not in a band, just a bunch of guys that get together, drink some beer and play some tunes. That is all I want.

I need a new amp that can keep up, but don't have a lot of cash or space. I also will not be paying gigs in bars. Let me also preface by saying I fully understand that people have very definite opinions, so for the crowd that will want to say just buy a fEARful and a Ampeg SVT, just keep it to yourself. This decision is SPECIFICALLY between these amps.

Ashdown Five Fifteen - I had been trying to get an Ampeg BA115 used from GC for a couple weeks, found a bunch for a steal, but none actually worked. So I saw this guy on MF, couldn't find a lot on it but it seemed well regarded, 100W, 15" Speaker for $229 and free shipping. I ACTUALLY ORDERED THIS AND IT IS GETTING DELIVERED TODAY.

Hartke Kickback 12 - Saw this on Craigslist, guy is using it in his home studio, very little wear and wants $100 for it. 120w and 12" speaker. This seems like such a good deal, if I go with it it would be worth paying the return freight on the Ashdown.