1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Has anyone tried playing reggae/ska tunes with a DB?

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by fivaras, Sep 19, 2013.

1. fivaras

fivaras

Hello everyone,

I play EB for some years now in a reggae/ska/swing band and i started playing DB a couple of years ago. I was wandering whether any of you have tried playing in a reggae/ska band with an upright bass since it is obviously not easy. I mean, yes in a traditional ska band people used to play walking bass lines with a DB over the chords. But what about a more modern ska rhythm? More up-tempo. Or a reggae riddim. Do you think its possible to sound cool?
  2. Salamenster

Salamenster

Most of the old-school ska tunes were played on a DB, and the first reggae on the Ampeg Baby Bass EUB.
  3. fivaras

fivaras

I know about the old-school traditional ska tunes. I didn't know about the reggae part and I'm a big fan. Any links/videos that i can check out?
  4. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    Why don't you try it with your band and see how it goes? You won't get the same kind of sustain as you do on EB but who cares, make it work. It can get low enough and shake the floor for sure.
  5. HolmeBass

HolmeBass