Have to use headphones, any recommendations on interface to mac?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Scruffypoos, Feb 17, 2013.


  1. Scruffypoos

    Scruffypoos

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Open to suggestions here, basically, I've moved to London into a flat and it looks like the majority of my playing time will be through headphones. I have a decent set of headphones but no amp down here to plug them into.

    I was thinking I'll get some sort of interface and use Garageband or something on my mac but it's been a long time since having to use headphones so recommendations on any hardware/software would be greatly appreciated.

    Don't mind spending as long as it's worth it and don't particularly want to buy a new/bring one of my amps down here, smaller the better :)

    Cheers!
     
  2. Kmonk

    Kmonk

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3,354
    Location:
    South Shore, Massachusetts
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender, Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    Tascam has some great MP3 players which are also headphone amps. I have been using them for years and am very happy with them. I like the fact that they are small enough that I can take them anywhere.
     
  3. TXLawDawg

    TXLawDawg Put some stank on it... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
  4. Scruffypoos

    Scruffypoos

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Awesome, cheers guys... That Apogee thing looks just what I'm after :) I'll check out the Tascam stuff too, always been a fan!
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. topo morto

    topo morto

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,355
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Why not buy a little practice amp for a tenner (or a bit more) off ebay or gumtree? The neighbours probably won't even hear it as long as you position it sensibly and keep the volume down, and it's just more fun than using headphones. Plus it will have a headphone socket anyway.

    By all means use the computer if you want to record, but just to practice it's much more fun having an amp than faffing around IMO.
     
  7. TXLawDawg

    TXLawDawg Put some stank on it... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I love posts that seem to completely ignore the OP. :eyebrow:
     
  8. project_c

    project_c

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    London, UK
  9. topo morto

    topo morto

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,355
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    My thought was: does the OP actually want to record (in which case an interface is needed, carry on), or just to be able to practice with headphones (in which case the cheap/free option of just picking up a little S/H amp locally shouldn't be written off).
     
  10. Swift713

    Swift713

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,763
    Location:
    The Berkshires, Ma
    The [sfx] headphone amp looks pretty nice.
     
  11. Floyd Eye

    Floyd Eye Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,403
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I have a Presonus Firebox. Works perfectly with GB. I would sell mine, but there is one for sale here already cheaper than what I would part with mine for. These units were about $350 new and the one in the classifieds is for sale for $65. Can't beat that with a stick. It appears it is still for sale.
     
  12. TXLawDawg

    TXLawDawg Put some stank on it... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Just happens that there is one in the classifieds at the moment...

    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=959277
     
  13. topo morto

    topo morto

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,355
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  14. TXLawDawg

    TXLawDawg Put some stank on it... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Touché
     
  15. willsellout

    willsellout

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,529
    Location:
    Woodinville, WA
    The best thing you can do is buy a Zoom B3. You can use it to record into garageband. It has drum loops, and a bunch of cool effects.
     
  16. willsellout

    willsellout

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,529
    Location:
    Woodinville, WA
    I should also note I used the Apogee and didn't care for the sound. I also had an M-audio interface, but the Zoom works really really well and sounds good. IT's a bit more, but worth it.
     
  17. Toptube

    Toptube

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,600
    don't forget about the Vox AmPlug
     
  18. Scruffypoos

    Scruffypoos

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Awesome, this is great community!

    I'll look into all the suggestions, the Apogee seems most like what I'm after. I did mean London, UK hence the lack of space to bring an amp down :)

    I wasn't really looking to record but it would be nice to have the option of high quality recording so that microbook will have some serious consideration.

    Thanks guys!
     
  19. Swift713

    Swift713

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,763
    Location:
    The Berkshires, Ma
    What didn't you like about the sound of the Apogee?
     
  20. willsellout

    willsellout

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,529
    Location:
    Woodinville, WA
    My bass is pretty high output and would overdrive it. Also I A/b'd the sound quality with the Zoom and Apogee and found the zoom to be noticeably better. But if you want minimalist, small, and easy to use the Apogee is great.
     
  21. Swift713

    Swift713

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,763
    Location:
    The Berkshires, Ma
    I've got the B3, I'm just a little surprised about the Apogee. For the price you'd think it would be quite good.
     

Share This Page