Having issues with the keyboardist

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by DionClassic, Jan 16, 2014.

1. DionClassic

DionClassic

So I'm in a band... We've been doing really well and started playing a lot of local venues... All of a sudden at practice we have a keyboardist...

Right off the bat I was not thrilled... Sure enough... We is left hand heavy and lives ringing out chords.

I'm a bassist who likes to move around the neck and throwin fills here and there... Enough said I fill like quitting the band

I told my guitarist that this whole thing is rediculous and that he's adding nothing to the band and "if it ain't broke don't fix it"... They understood and said the decision would have to be unanimous.

Now... At the end of the day I understand the tonal options that a keyboard/organ may bring to a band so I want to know what is a way to have keys in your band without messing with the current sound while adding new dimensions...

Is it maybe a volume thing... Or less is more...

Keyboardists or people that play with keys please chime in... I plan on having a talk with him soon and I'd like to give him some tips and see if things get better. I will add that he is very talented so there is potential.

Thanks!

2. Dogbertday

Dogbertday

My experience is that anytime you add a player, everyone should think "less is more". This includes withh bass fill. More players means more listening.

3. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

Well, most inexperienced keyboardist overplay until they learn how to blend with a band - and veteran players know better - so good luck and best wishes.

4. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

+100%

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. DionClassic

DionClassic

I think I definitely agree with that its just tough when we have songs that are written and we've played them a certain way and it all needs to change... And I'm not quite certain it's for the better.

7. Session1969

Session1969 Gold Supporting Member