Hearing myself in the mix

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Morphgarth, Apr 11, 2014.

1. Morphgarth

Morphgarth

Hi guys. I'm a complete newbie. Been rehearsing with a band and all going fine. Last night we rehearsed in a venue we'll be playing soon. Up until now it's all been in proper studio/ rehearsal spaces. The venue has a hard tiled floor, low ceiling and brick walls.

Anyway, I was really struggling to hear myself. I'm using an ashdown mag 600 with a 1x12 and a 4x10.

I turned up the Mids which seemed to help. People were telling me the bass was cutting through to the audience area. Is there an optimum position for me to be relative to my rig etc?

Any clues appreciated?
  2. bluesdogblues

bluesdogblues

Media:
    Albums:
    Bassplayer's 'usual' position just few steps in front of the bass cabs is already good place to have the sweet spot IMHO.
  3. FretNoMore

FretNoMore * Cooking with GAS * Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    A bit out of the box maybe, but I find that wearing hearing protection makes me hear myself better. It lowers the overall sound pressure from the band and it takes out the "boominess" so I hear the actual bass tone better.
  4. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

Why are you mixing a 4X10 with a single 12 ?

You are limiting yourself by putting 1/2 your power into that 1X12
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. scottfeldstein

scottfeldstein Supporting Member

1. Step away from your rig. If most of it is blowing your pants legs around, there's not much reaching your ears. Standing a few feet in front of it can help. And/or elevate/angle your cabs to get more sound to your ears.

2. Leave your 1x12 at home. Or at least put it on the bottom and don't bother plugging it in. You're limiting your 4x10 cab to what your 12 can handle. Unwise.

3. Lose some of the deep lows and dial in some mids. Sounds like you know that trick already.
  7. Morphgarth

Morphgarth