Help! Adding an onboard distortion preamp to a bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Kevinchriste, Apr 15, 2014.

1. Kevinchriste

Kevinchriste

Hi, im in the process of designing the schematic for a bass im going to be refurbishing and i would like to add several things including an onboard distortion/overdrive preamp. Yes I know its way easier to just buy an fx box for this but i think it would be fun an unique to put it onboard instead. Anyone have any tips or schematics they can direct me too? I am an aviation electrician in the navy so i have some knowledge and experience in wiring and schematics. I think this would be a fun project and any help would be greatly appreciated thanks!

Kevin

2. lx_night

lx_night Supporting Member

Very cool idea! Looking forward to the outcome!

3. Kevinchriste

Kevinchriste

Thankyou! I found this websight and it give some good insight into how distortion works in a non-tube situation my, but im still looking if i have to ill just trial and error my way to get it to work right but id rather not. And that is one of my concerns and its prolly a dumb concern but to get an effective overdrive in low frequencys what would be needed to change....i mean im sure its not much but its still a concern.

http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/richardo/distortion/

4. lokikallas

lokikallas Supporting Member

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. line6man

line6man

Kevinchriste likes this.
  7. Crater

Crater

There are several 1-transistor overdrives that sound good and lend themselves to "on board" installation. Just do a google image search for these schematics:
    1) Bazz Fuss (yes that's spelled correctly)
    2) Cream Pie germanium booster (there's two versions)
    3) Electra Distortion