Help Finding right head for new rig

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by cbfriedman757, Nov 14, 2012.

1. cbfriedman757

cbfriedman757

Hey guys, I've been using a big combo since I started playing and now am looking to upgrade to a full rig, but really don't know much about them.

I just bought a used SWR 1x18 and was wondering what type of head and cab you guys would recommend to go with it. I'm definitely looking for used gear, and since it's my first setup I'm not looking for something thats gonna blow my budget out of the water, just something that's gonna sound good since my band is just started to play bigger shows.

I've just been looking around craigslist but don't really wanna commit to something til I know more about setting up a new rig and getting the best sound.

Thanks!

2. nicoli

nicoli

What are the specs on the 1x18? What type of music? Just how loud do you need to be?

3. cbfriedman757

cbfriedman757

400 Watts RMS 8 Ohms Response Suggested Amplifiers
    6dB @ 25Hz and 3kHz

That's straight from the website for the cab. Kinda hard genre to define, but kinda a mix of soul, ska, and rock n roll, its a 10 piece band with horns so pretty damn loud, but nothing too huge. Definitely like the low thumping bass but also with some punch if that helps... I've been using my combo blasted like all the way up for a few years and just running a direct out to the mains when we play bigger shows.

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie