Help for a Beginner

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pigtailsonfire, Nov 26, 2013.

1. Pigtailsonfire

Pigtailsonfire

Hello everyone,

I’m late coming to the party but I finally decided to pick up a musical hobby for the first time in my adult life. And the bass guitar is the one. I have NO musical experience whatsoever so I hope that doesn’t hinder me in the learning process. But I am a music lover and have always loved the sound of bass notes and rhythms.

I’ve done some research and decided on the following items to buy but am still unsure about my choices. Hoping you experts can offer some advice and guidance. I’m a very short female (4’ 11”) with small hands (and short arms) so it looks like a short scale bass is the best way to go.

1. Bass guitar: I can’t decide between the Squier Vintage Modified Mustang or the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar SS. Is one recommended over the other, or is it a case of win-win with either one?

2. Amp: Also can’t decide between Ampeg BA 108 or Fender Rumble 15. Thoughts? Or again, either one is good for beginner? Also, dumb question: can I plug the amp into electrical wall outlet or do I need a special dedicated power source for it?

3. In some of the reviews I’ve read, a lot of people say they swapped the stock bass strings on their new bass for their favourite strings. As a beginner, should I just leave them on and only change them down the road when I can actually play the bass?

This is strictly a hobby and the bass that I choose would probably be the only one I buy, I think. I’ve already order a book on learning to play the bass for beginners.

Sorry for the many questions. Thank you.

2. f.c.geil

f.c.geil I'm your huckleberry... Supporting Member

Media:
    Congrats on picking up an instrument. Making music is one of the great joys in life. You also chose the best one. ;). Second, welcome to TalkBass!