Help for a new member

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Beef of the Sea, Mar 22, 2014.

1. Beef of the Sea

Beef of the Sea

Hey everyone,

I've been browsing this forum since I started playing bass about 10 years ago, but I just now decided to make an account because of a "problem" I need help with.

*DISCLAIMER: When it comes to gear, I am a complete idiot when it comes to anything electronics-related, so please forgive my ignorance.*

I've been playing bass off and on for the past 10 years, and I recently decided to buy a Squier VM J bass from the music store where I work. My other bass (my first bass ever) is an Ibanez GSR200. I bought the Squier because I wanted something that would give me a better sound for the type of music I play (old-school R&B, funk, disco, soul, etc.). Fenders w/ flats are known for having the perfect sound for that type of music, so essentially that's what I went for. The problem is...I'm not really diggin' the way my new bass sounds. Instead of the thumpy, punchy, fat sound that I like, it's getting a woody, hollow, gritty sound that seems to fit rock music better. It's also really quiet compared to the Ibanez, when set at the same volume levels.

Both basses are set up with D'Addario Chromes (.045-.100) and have similar action.

Does anyone know how to fix this? I've heard recordings and live performances of people playing on Fenders/Squiers with flats, and it sounds much different than what I'm getting. I used to own a Fender MIA P bass, and pretty much had the same experience.

I'll try to send a couple audio clips soon.

Thanks in advance!
  2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    What amp are you using?
  3. AndyW83

AndyW83

What kind of body wood are your basses?
  4. Beef of the Sea

Beef of the Sea

Alright, here are the audio clips comparing my two basses:

https://soundcloud.com/beef-of-the-sea