Help get the inspiration back

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by grunge_freak, Apr 2, 2014.

1. grunge_freak

grunge_freak

I've been playing for a long time but lately with work and all, I don't have as much time to practice and focus on my bass playing. So for the maybe 1 hour of time I get a day to practice, I find myself warming up with the same scales/riffs/songs I always do just to keep my skills up but I'm lacking inspiration. It's like I can't think of anything new to play. How do you guys get over these tough times?
  2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

Once I started playing in our church band there are six new songs to learn, or dust off, each week. So those six songs gives me something new to work on.

I'd suggest taking on a new type of music or a new instrument. Jazz can keep you busy for years. Some drum lessons could improve your bass skills, keyboard is always a good addition. Rhythm guitar is a natural. Most musicians play more than one instrument If you do not now, give that a try.

Find a jamming circle, or have some friends drop by each week. Those are just a few of the things you could try. I'm sure the guys will come up with more.

Good luck.
  3. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Supporting Member

Pick a station without commercials, or ipod on shuffle, and just play with whatever comes on.
  4. vince a

vince a

If you go to church and are a christian, join the church's Worship Team band . . . I promise your playing and inspiration will skyrocket . . . esp if the church plays newer Christian songs. Learn those song's bass lines note-for-note.

I wish I could give you some of my inspiration . . . I have tons of it. However, I was just recently diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease. I may have to quit playing sometime in the future, but until then, when my right hand really starts shaking . . . those sixteenth notes get really easy to play!
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Tonetodiefor

Tonetodiefor Supporting Member