HELP....I just rented a double bass!

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by kopio, Apr 4, 2014.

1. kopio

kopio

Ok...so it's not as urgent as the title implies...but I'd love some feedback.

I'm primarily an electric player. I play both fretted and fretless, and I play them both pretty well. I played in jazz band through high school (on the sax) and sang in jazz choir in college. So...I have a very solid theory background. I started playing bass about 10 years ago, and I'm a competent player that can play what is put in front of him.

For our Easter program our worship director asked if I could play upright. I said, I'd love to. I've played around on upright a bit, but never too seriously. So I went down to a local violin shop (they build their own there, so I think they are pretty reputable) and rented an double bass. Got it home and started playing it, and I have been able to play it fairly well (emphasis on fairly). I play a lot of fretless and I have a very strong ear (not perfect but extremely strong relative pitch), so I've been able to stay in tune.

My question is....how should I practice? I'm obviously going to shed the tunes we are going to play for the event, but are there things I need to be cautious about? I'm going to be playing solely pizzacato, so I'm not even going to worry about the bow for now, but if any of you have any pointers or great websites loaded with lots of beginner information that would be great.

I hang out a lot on the electric part of this forum, and I truly love playing....I'm totally loving having an upright after all these years. I've been playing jazz for about 30 years now, and this is a dream come true!

Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards,

-Matt (aka Kopio)
  2. salcott

salcott Supporting Member

Get a teacher who plays double bass. Now. There are issues, especially with the left hand, that can hurt you down the road if you don't get started playing the right way.
  3. tcl

tcl Gold Supporting Member

Media: