HELP! Identify this '90s Samick bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by araT, Oct 7, 2010.

1. araT

araT

Hi everyone :) I'm new here - I'm mainly a guitarist/pianist, but as I work as a sound engineer & guitar tech I get my hands on a lot of basses too..

I picked up this Samick bass about 10 years ago to muck around on & keep handy. It's mid-90s I'd imagine. Korean. Serial # is 2 031242. (there's nothing of use in the neck pocket) I got it for ~$50 in a loanshark in TERRIBLE condition, covered in a thick layer of stickers & grime. With a bit of TLC & elbow grease I managed to get it back to this, which is good enough for me.. (Though I'm toying with the idea of slapping some bass Alumitones in it, I think they'd look & sound awesome)

The pics are a little old & it's had a good setup since, so ignore the retardo intonation, I must have forgot to set that before I eagerly snapped off pics when I'd finished cleaning it up.

I've asked at a few of the forums I regular, and we *think* it might POSSIBLY be a Artist series, model YB-430, but as we can't find one that looks identical (or any other way to confirm it) I was hoping some here could help..

I've sent emails direct to Samick a few times, but they never reply.. :meh:

Thanks for taking the time to have a look, and thanks in advance for any advice or info you can give me!

More pics here: http://s499.photobucket.com/albums/rr353/araTguitars/Samick Bass/

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
  2. danomite64

danomite64 Supporting Member

It's a YARPJ.

[​IMG]
  3. Thundar

Thundar Supporting Member

Danomite...whered you get that catalog page? is there an online resource for Alvarez catalog, or did you have it on your computer? Just curious, I have a couple of Alvarez's that Id like to check on....thanks!
  4. danomite64

I found it in the box I keep old catalogs in; in the back room, right side, 2nd box from the top.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. araT

araT