1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Help identifying bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by spinfreak, Aug 15, 2013.

1. spinfreak

spinfreak

Hi y'all. First off, let me say thanks for any help y'all can give me. Sadly, I have absolutely zero knowledge of music...well, I listen, but don't know jack squat when it comes to making it, or instruments. In trying to find info about this bass, I came across this forum, and figured someone here would know some info.

I'm looking for a manufacturer/name, more than anything. But a possible value would be helpful also, as well as the best place to sell it (I sell some stuff on eBay, but like I said, I have zero knowledge of instruments, so not sure if there's somewhere better to sell).

Anyway, the only thing I know is that it was manufactured in Japan. I can't find any markings on it. There is a loose tag inside the guitar case, but I'm not sure if it belongs to the bass or not, as a google search comes up blank. The front of the tag says "John Roberts Inc", and the rear of the tags says the same, as well as "NY, NY 10018", and has "RN 23973" and "Style 4050". I'm thinking the tag is either from something totally different, or possibly from the case itself???

Here's some pics of the bass...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks in advance for any and all help :)

2. HeavyRockBasser

HeavyRockBasser

Because you're new here, we're not supposed to do any valuations. But, it appears that this is a Japanese seventies P-bass clone. Some of these were very well made, and can make great players, but they aren't generally worth a whole lot... somewhere along the lines of a used Squier, usually.

The tag appears to be a clothing tag. You can throw that away.

3. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****