Help!! I'm stuck in pentatonic mode.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by slappa da beeus, Dec 3, 2013.

1. slappa da beeus

slappa da beeus

I have been playing for several years and find myself frustrated when I play with jazzy musicians because I'm stuck in this pentatonic mode. My muscle memory is stuck. Are there any resources for transitioning from this "rut" to understanding what I'm supposed to be playing while not sounding like a novice?

2. fearceol

fearceol

IMO you need to focus on chords and chord tones. Start learning walking bass lines. I dont know your standard of theory but hopefully these links will be of some help :

Here is a set of basic lessons on walking bass. Apart from jazz, walking bass lines are a great way to learn chords that can be used in any type of music.

3. Mennolineum

Mennolineum

Scott Devine is the best! I've been stuck in the pentatonic scale aswell, some of his videos got me out

4. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Chord tones are always a good start, if you're talking about how to solo, transcribing is your friend. Get familiar with horns and how they phrase (which will also get you out of the endless-stream-of-notes habit some players develop)

Pentatonic isn't all that bad though. The Scott Devine video about Gary Willis is a good example of how to mix it up, there's another video that talks about pentatonics derived from the different scale degrees and how they each sound different, but I can't find it right now... argh!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. slappa da beeus

slappa da beeus

I subscribe to Scott's channel and have played along with some of his vids but he moves pretty swift and tends to speak over my head sometimes. I was a music major in college and have an Associate of Arts degree in music but that was 15 yrs ago and I've forgotten much of what I learned. I've played in a blues band regularly for the last 17 years so maybe this is why my muscle memory is so used to walking around in pentatonic mode.