Help! Is Hartke LH 1000 fits in Gator GR-2US rack case?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by lifer_, Dec 15, 2013.

1. lifer_

lifer_

Hi, guys! Need an advice here.
    I'm planning to purchase Hartke LH 1000 head with HX410 stack and also want to purchase a plastic Gator rack case. So, my dilemma is which one to take GR-2US (shallow) or I'll need a deeper version like GR-2UL.
    I really don't need a bigger rack at the moment than 2U, but it'll be nice to pack some cables inside,too. The main is to have a compact setup and to protect the amp.

Is there someone that use this case for his LH 1000 or LH 500 (they are the same size)? Are you happy with it? :)

Should I think of the bigger one like GR-2UL, cause if that's the case the price difference with 3US, 4US and 4UL is not much (4 euro) or equal (2UL = 3US). I'm really new to racks, but need one because we travel a lot with my band. You know how it is, every spare place in the van is important. At the moment I don't plan to put some other rack mountable units, but do I need to think for the future???

I could easily find a place for 3-4 cables in some bag, but if GR-2US is not enough big and reliable (because of the smaller size) for this amp, is it better to buy a big one like 3U, 4U or at least a GR-2UL that is deeper and there is chance to put some extra cables at the back or not to unplug the speakon to put the lids?

Sorry for the long post, but just felt right to dеscribe the situation.
  2. Febs

Febs Supporting Member

I'm not familiar with that specific rack case, but the LH500 and LH1000 are 14.5" deep, so they require a full-depth case.
  3. lifer_

lifer_

Yep, Hartke is 14.5" and like the Gator specs say GR-2US interior length is 12.25 " but it's exterior length is 17.5". So, are these extra 5" (obviously the lids) will be enough to cover the amp and is this a good idea not to be fully inside the rack?