1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Help Me Become a Bassist!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by feelthaflo, Dec 7, 2012.

1. feelthaflo

feelthaflo

Hi folks,
    First post here, and let me start with an obligatory disclaimer: I am not a bassist. At least, not yet. I am a 20-ish year guitarist, looking to expand my musical horizons by experimenting with 7-string guitar and its infamous partner-in-crime, the 5-string bass.

Having never seriously picked up a bass in all these years, I used my buddy's old beater to lay down a couple of tracks about a month ago. Somehow, it just clicked. I've always been able to naturally groove with a drummer on guitar, but this is really the right instrument for that! It was a lot of fun, but now I have a GAS problem...

I am hoping to pick up some good info around the forums, and for the moment I am in search of a decent set-up to get started with. So let me tell you a bit about my intended play style, and what I was planning to look for, and hopefully you more experienced folks will be able to help steer me in the right direction in case I've gone astray.

First off, I feel like I need a 5-string. I just started playing 7-string guitar, and if I don't have that low-B available for parity in my compositions, I'll most likely end up trading in any 4-string that I would get otherwise.

Second, coming from a guitar background, I'll be playing bass with a pick, at least to start. I use really thick picks (V-Picks) so they may end up sounding closer to fingers than your typical guitar pick, but I figured this might make some difference in suggestions.