1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Help me pick an amp?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by HunterBurgan4Me, Dec 30, 2012.

1. HunterBurgan4Me

HunterBurgan4Me

Hiya, while i'm a good bassist i'm useless when it comes to rigs. I'm looking to upgrade from a combo amp to a stack and I need some help narrowing down my choices.

I use a 5string bass and I play metal, funk and everything in between, I do everything, slap, finger and pick and I play through a Fender deluxe active jazz V

I usually have quite a pretty compressed tone but I don't use a compression pedal just built into the amp as it gives me a fair amount of extra attack which is quite nice and evens out the transitions to slap bits. So if anyone could reccomend a fairly straightforward compression pedal that would be a bonus.

My budget for the entire thing is probably around
    £1000 (note british pounds) so I need an Amp head, cab and possibly a pedal

Thanks in advance :)

These are a few examples of the kinds of tones I like.

2. musicman666

musicman666 Supporting Member

Used SVT and 810
  3. Pills Are Yummy

Pills Are Yummy

+1
    you really cant go wrong with one of these
  4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Shop for used gear to stretch the budget, and whatever else you do, don't skimp out on the spkr cab. Bigger is always better, so 4x10 MINIMUM, or a pair of 1x12's, a 2x15, etc. powered by any good bass head 300-500 watts.
  5. Pills Are Yummy

Pills Are Yummy

Used SVT+8X10