1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Help me pick out my first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by joeyfender, Nov 25, 2013.

1. joeyfender

joeyfender

Hey everyone, I'm Joey. I have been playing guitar for 2 years and drums for 6 months. I recently filled in at bass for a show and had a blast. I have recently started a band with some friends and I am going to be playing bass. I need help picking out a bass. We will be playing music from Bad to the Bone to Raining Blood. My price range is under $150. I also need an amp. Thanks!

2. Casting Thunder

Casting Thunder

3. Malak the Mad

Malak the Mad Over the River and through the Looking Glass Supporting Member

What make/model bass were you using while filling in? If it can't fit into your budget, maybe someone can suggest a suitably similar axe.

Is the $150 your bass budget or are you looking to fit an amp into that number? (…and don't forget possible shipping costs) I ask because I may not be in a "playing live" situation, but from what I've heard around these parts you may need to save up a little bit more to get a gig-worthy bass. That is, unless you seriously luck out and fine a real gem of a bargain. That being said, check out the SX Basses from Rondo Music (search for "essex" here on TalkBass). There are many here who swear by their bang-for-your-buck quality.

EDIT: I just checked out their basses section. There are over a dozen models that are on sale right now, and that's just for the four-stringers.

4. Alex1984

Alex1984

$150's tough, SX maybe? Try renting for a while, you get to see what you like, and save up.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. macmanlou

macmanlou Don't push it. Just let it fall. Supporting Member

Up the budget to $179 and you can get a new Squier VM Jaguar.

7. Malak the Mad