1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

HELP ME PLAY LIKE LES CLAYPOOL!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by touchofgrey549, Apr 18, 2003.

1. touchofgrey549

touchofgrey549

HELP! I can't stand it anymore, I have been trying to figure out how to play like him for months! I have been playing bass for 3 years but I just can't emulate his sound! DOES ANYBODY HAVE ANY TIPS ???:confused: :confused: :bassist:

2. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

First: Buy a Spector, it's not the bass les uses, but hey, it's pretty nice.

Second: Become Les Claypool and play.

In all seriousness, no one sounds like Les Claypool.
    Stop trying.

3. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Yeah...Les probably has one of hte most unobtainablely unique tones in the world.

but that has been said about mark king, but www.gazzbass.com has got King's tone down to a science.

you COULD sound like les if you really put enough time, effort and money into it, but why bother?

just be yourself.

as for PLAYING like les....do you really want to ?:D

4. touchofgrey549

touchofgrey549

by sound, i mean technique. what technique is he using and what can u tell me to do to do likewise

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

But his technique is his own, and, not yours.

He uses a bunch of stuff. Fingers, slap, rapity rap dig dong dang.

7. Infernal Affair

Infernal Affair

He also started out using three fingers plucking as opposed to two.

He's a wacky guy, that Les Claypool.

8. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

His style, tone, technique...everythign about him is unconventional....so use that as an example, if you want to play like him...be unconventional...be original, and fresh.

9. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

"To defy the laws of tradition.....is a crusade only of the brave"