help me with tone

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by varozerolf, Feb 1, 2013.

1. varozerolf

varozerolf

well i am a beginner and im going to be honest i have no idea what is a good bass amp and how the knobs change the sound on the amp and bass i have a warwick corvette rockbass 5 string and i need help getting good tone i dont want to be some ****** that just plugs in and turns everything to max.:help:

2. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

Well you have a nice bass what kind of amp do you have? I like to keep my amp as flat as possible which on most amps is all the tone knobs at noon and do my tone shaping with my bass tone controls.

3. varozerolf

varozerolf

i am looking to buy one that is good for a metal tone something like this

4. NYCbassist

NYCbassist Supporting Member

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

+1 on that how much money do you have to spend?

7. RhynoRock

RhynoRock

He was pretty damn good.

A good metal tone from just about any combination of gear can be had, that's just something you're gonna need to figure out for yourself bro. There's no single metal tone for bass. There have been bassists with all different sounds over the years in metal bands. You have a great start with the Rockbass, it's just a matter of finding a good deal on a good amp and playing with it until you're satisfied.

But you'll definitely need something with a good amount of power, say 500 watts should do nicely. This Peavey combo would serve you very well. And don't let anyone tell you otherwise, Peavey makes solid gear, bottom line.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifiers-effects/peavey-tour-tnt-115-bass-combo-amp