Help! Too good to be true Kay bass??

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by mordechai, Nov 18, 2013.

1. mordechai

mordechai Supporting Member

*craigslist link deleted*

Seller seems to know very little and all he could tell me is that it's a full size. I'm a bass guitarist looking for my first upright...

2. T-Bird

T-Bird

Hi.

Even in this economy, for that price I'd snag it as quickly as possible.
    If it's still there that is ;).

No matter what the brand, You'll recoup your investment if you decided a DB is not for you after all.
    Even CCB's tend to cost more.

Regards
    Sam

3. PaulKing

PaulKing

4. PaulKing

PaulKing

not full size, 3/4,
    50s emblem, superficially looks good nick. Can never tell if its going to need major work, but $300 is not a bad start price for a rotting carcass of a Kay, pretty much...

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jake deVilliers

Jake deVilliers Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Owner of The Bass Spa, String Repairman at Long & McQuade Vancouver
    Pretty hard to lose money on a complete and playable Kay at that price.

7. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

8. james condino

james condino Spruce dork Supporting Member

9. mordechai

Just picked it up. I'm giddy, I can't believe it actually happened. It's a Kay S-8, Serial number 19629. Looks like that makes it a '49?

Man I don't even know what to do with myself. I'm going out of town for a couple days, but when I get back I'll get some glamour shots up here.

Any interesting history on the S-8?

10. PetersReviews

PetersReviews

Wow, that was fast! Congrats! Since the seller removed the listing, I'll be checking back for pics.

11. Jake deVilliers

Disclosures:
    A '49 S-8 - Nice!

I just finished restoring a '52 Kay S-8 and it has turned out very nicely. ;)

12. Vcell

Vcell

Yes. Pics please.

13. mordechai

Ok who am I kidding, I have nothing better to do than post pics right now. It's too late to play, and the screw to loosen the end pin is stuck.