Help..when the guitarist can't tell you chord

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Batz, Dec 1, 2012.

1. Batz

Batz

I’ve been trying to learn actually theory lately as apposed to playing by ear as I have always done. I’ve been studying walking bass lines, arpeggios, modes etc. The books I purchased are great, but I am having issues actually applying it. The books assume you (and the guitarist) know if the are playing minor, 7th, etc. I play mostly punk and all the guitarists I have played with are self taught and can’t always tell you what they are playing.

I know you have progressions like I IV V, etc. and I vaguely remember a teacher talking about how a scale can be harmonized which will tell you which chords are which. Even if it is a power chord, the chord is a “implied minor or seventh”. Something along those lines.

How do you figure out the “progression” and the “implied” chords? I would like to do scale runs and walking bass line type things in parts, but am lost at what mode, scale, arpeggio, etc to use. I'm replacing a rather well known punk guitarist (he played bass with this band) and he came up with great bass lines, but I have no decent recordings to learn off of so have to make my own. I spend so much extra time playing “bad notes” in an attempt to find the right one.

Here are a some examples. I’m putting the root note the guitarist gives me when I ask the chord name...

1. Verse: B / A / G# / G#
    Chorus: E / C# / D / D

2. Verse: F / F / F / F / B / B / B / B
    Chorus: D / A / F# / F

3. Verse: D / D / C / C
    Chorus: D / D / F / G

4. Verse: B / G / A / B
    Chorus: E / G / A / B

5. Verse: E / D / A / A
    Chorus: D / D / C / G

Really basic songs, but if I try using a major key for all the chords, it doesn’t sound right.
  2. winegamd

winegamd