1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Help with compression.. Compulator vs Aguilar TLC

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Stooges_Fan, Jun 9, 2011.

1. Stooges_Fan

Stooges_Fan

Hello, let me start off saying, I love onvilab reviews, but i'm not very experienced with comps, I had the EBS and loved everything about it, besides the slow attack, I had to get rid of it, because it let inital spikes through. I like to use lots of compression, and always had the EBS compression knob all the way, as well as threshold all the way. I got the compulator thinking the fast attack would fix everything. It did fix the inital spikes when using heavy comp, but I fell the compression itself is not very strong... for example, I'm a wild performer, and when i spike my attack, the compulator doesn't knock it down very agressive, like the ebs did... maybe thats because the compulator is soft knee ? I think ebs might be a harder knee ? i guess because the compulator is optical compression, it just isn't effective enough... it seems to have less compression than the EBS did, even though it's supposed to have more... So I was looking at the Aguilar TLC, and I'm thinking that might be perfect for me, has attack knob, and lots of compression available (It has quite a bit right ??) But need to know if it haS a good agressive stlye of compression like the EBS.. (maybe tlc has hard knee I hope?) and it doesn't have the optical sound of the compulator I hope ? I would prob. turn the c