Help with compression.. Compulator vs Aguilar TLC

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Stooges_Fan, Jun 9, 2011.

1. Stooges_Fan

Stooges_Fan

Hello, let me start off saying, I love onvilab reviews, but i'm not very experienced with comps, I had the EBS and loved everything about it, besides the slow attack, I had to get rid of it, because it let inital spikes through. I like to use lots of compression, and always had the EBS compression knob all the way, as well as threshold all the way. I got the compulator thinking the fast attack would fix everything. It did fix the inital spikes when using heavy comp, but I fell the compression itself is not very strong... for example, I'm a wild performer, and when i spike my attack, the compulator doesn't knock it down very agressive, like the ebs did... maybe thats because the compulator is soft knee ? I think ebs might be a harder knee ? i guess because the compulator is optical compression, it just isn't effective enough... it seems to have less compression than the EBS did, even though it's supposed to have more... So I was looking at the Aguilar TLC, and I'm thinking that might be perfect for me, has attack knob, and lots of compression available (It has quite a bit right ??) But need to know if it haS a good agressive stlye of compression like the EBS.. (maybe tlc has hard knee I hope?) and it doesn't have the optical sound of the compulator I hope ? I would prob. turn the comp up all the way on the TLC, along with threshold, keep that in mind. also how would the Mark Bass Compressor compare in here ? This is really important, since I can't try all compressors out (they are expensive) Thanks in advance for all knowledge and expertise you may wield upon me.
  2. whitedk57

whitedk57

I have the BBE Opto-Stomp, and it works well. I have no clue on the other ones mentioned, but I thought I would add my two cents on the Opto-Stomp...
  3. Stooges_Fan

Stooges_Fan