Help with first decent bass amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Thijsklaps, Feb 5, 2014.

1. Thijsklaps

Thijsklaps

Hey guys, I have been playing bass for a year now and have been playing on a Fender Rumble 15 practice amp. I am thinking about starting a band but I need some new gear to do so, I will mostly use it to practice with my band but I have to be able to play small shows with it too, I will be playing hardcore/metal so i need enough volume and it has to sound heavy, and thats about all I know since I'm a complete noob. So my question is, can someone recommend a decent setup? My budget is very low and I'd say max $1000. Thanks in advance!
  2. kikstand454

kikstand454 Supporting Member

1k can buy you a heck of a rig. Especially used.

Find you a good 410 and a 300-500 watt head and there you go. Done. If that's not enough..... consider a second 410 or an 810.

It really all depends on the SOUND you're going for, as almost any rig you piece together for $1k can meet your volume needs.
  3. Thijsklaps

Thijsklaps

Thanks allot man! I will look into that, are there some brands that you can recommend?
  4. JellinWellen

JellinWellen

Here is a great setup for the money

Used hartke lh500 head (500 watts with a tube preamp 2 8ohm outputs) 200-250$
    ampeg svt 15e used for about 250$ get another if you need more volume
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. cv115505

cv115505 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Lakland Basses | Hanson Guitars | Augustas Guitars | Paul & Mills Amplification
    Used Carvin.... $1,000 of used Carvin gear is going to be all of the overhead you could ever want... As with any used gear, do the research and make sure the head marries up to the cabinet in terms of resistance and wattage.
  7. cv115505

cv115505 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Lakland Basses | Hanson Guitars | Augustas Guitars | Paul & Mills Amplification
    Are you just needing an amp? or are you looking into a new instrument as well?
  8. Thijsklaps