Help with music? :S

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by pazman10, Nov 16, 2012.

1. pazman10

pazman10

heyy TBer's, i'm new to this, i was just wondering, i'm learning how to play a little bit better, and i was just wondering what music/bands/musicians to listen to so it drills the sound into my head?:)

2. Chief2112

Chief2112

Listen to the music/bands/musicians that YOU like???

3. pazman10

pazman10

I don't really listen to jazz/funk music, sorry I forgot to mention that point. . .I'm learning jazz?

4. repoman

repoman

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Massimo636

Massimo636

Communication breakdown.

7. repoman

repoman

...it's always the same...

8. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender, Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    So you are learning jazz but you don't listen to jazz? That's like trying to learn bass without playing a bass. If you want to improve your jazz skills you should listen to jazz. Old jazz, modern jazz anything jazz related even if it is not bass oriented.

9. pazman10

pazman10

That's what I meant kmonk, i just don't know any jazz musicians :S

10. neebs

neebs

Stanley Clarke

I guess this is jazz fusion. I'm not hip to all the genre names.

11. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

The Real Bass Book 6th edition is all jazz standards in bass clef. Not audio, however ........ for audio ask Google to pull up a video on Autumn Leaves and then look on the right hand side of the screen at what other jazz songs are available. That should get you started. Some where in the middle would be a good starting place.

12. Jhengsman

Jhengsman

Get an overview album like the soundtrack for the Ken Burns documentary jazz. And by all means buy the iconic performance and check out other renditions of the songs you are assigned to learn. Just google or check in iTunes, etc the title. Should you come to like a specific era or genre of jazz then come back with a follow up question.

13. Spin Doctor