1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Help with my Ampeg Br-2e

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by staffordjon05, Jan 20, 2013.

1. staffordjon05

staffordjon05

I'm running my Ampeg Br-2E into a Ampeg 8x10 classic cab. And I'm not getting the power/volume I want out of it.
    Can I add a power amp to help my Ampeg?

2. Stone Soup

Stone Soup

3. staffordjon05

staffordjon05

I'm new to bass amplification and I'm just not sure how adding a power amp works exactly

4. Baird6869

Baird6869 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I love the night life, I got to boogie....
    If you need more power, I would personally look at a higher powered amp.

The B2-RE is not a very loud amp.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. simplebass

simplebass

I agree with Baird
    However there is a preamp out on the back of your br-2 which you could run to a poweramp.

7. staffordjon05

staffordjon05

Basically that is what I was wondering if adding a poweramp will boost my volume a bit. I mean my Br-2e keeps up with 100 watt tube Marshalls but I just want a little more out of it.

8. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps
    Crank the gain harder. Ignore the light and push the gain up till you hear distortion, then back off it slightly till the distortion clears up.

9. staffordjon05

staffordjon05

10. Stone Soup

Stone Soup