Help with my GK Please.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by urb, Dec 10, 2012.


  1. urb

    urb

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    So I just bought a Galien Krueger Micro amp . MLP. I did a search and couldn't find out much about it. Anyway , My problem is this:

    THe amp is stereo. One input TRS. I can get both sides to play if I use a standard cord and plug it in about half way. Of course I don't like doing things half assed and it vibrates loose. So I go to Radio shack and get a TRS plug that is a Y so I can plug two wires into it and get both channels to play.
    That being said I thought I had cleverly solved my problem for 7 bucks. Not so. The amp plays still one side and it doesn't matter which side I plug into on the Y. I am starting to suspect one of the channels is blown. So thump the bass and jostle the plug around in the back of the amp. I hear something coming from the other side. So the channel isn't blown.

    I have trouble shot all of the cords and the Y . Everything is functional

    Am I missing something with the cords? Or maybe its the plug-in on the amp? Any idea's

    Thanks for you time. Shane.
  2. urb

    urb

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Maybe I put this in the wrong forum:crying: I am sorry for being such a newb.
  3. eriky4003

    eriky4003

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    I wasn't aware that any of the GK micros where stereo. What model do you have?
  4. urb

    urb

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    I cant find anything on it. MLP . It looks like rackmount , but there are also little pegs on the bottom. I was going to upload a pic , but I forgot to pay my phone bill.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. eriky4003

    eriky4003

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Go to the GK website and search there for your model. Get back to this thread which type of amp it is so someone can help.
  7. wcriley

    wcriley

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Western PA
    Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    Assuming it's a discontinued model, GK's website won't have any info on it.
  8. Nev375

    Nev375

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Media:
    1
    Location:
    Missouri
    He already said its the ML/P

    Its a stereo Power amp. 60w/channel.

    They weren't around for long. Mostly marketed toward guitarists.
  9. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Well, if it's a stereo poweramp, the op will need to run some sort of preamp in front of it. I believe this may be why he's having issues.
  10. Nev375

    Nev375

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Media:
    1
    Location:
    Missouri
    There's many kinds of Y adapters that Radio Shack sells.

    If you have 2 1/4" mono jacks going into a single stereo TRS plug, you are still feeding a mono signal to either the ring or tip of the TRS and will only get one channel.

    But that channel should switch back and forth from left to right.

    We would have to know more about your adapter and how it is wired.

    And Rickenboogie is right.... What are you using for a pre to drive your amp?
  11. urb

    urb

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    No , I don't have a pre amp ATM. I was looking at the presonus dual path blue. There were so many mixed reviews I backed out of the deal. I have it plugged either into my digitech gnx 3 or a behringer 802. It sounds plenty loud.
    So lack of a pre amp will cause it to not play in stereo?
  12. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    I thought the ML series had a stereo/mono switch on the back?
  13. Crater

    Crater

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Wait, you have a Digitech GNX3?

    [​IMG]

    You have STEREO OUTPUTS already! You don't need a Y cable, you need two instrument cables between your GNX and the power amp.
  14. urb

    urb

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    The amp has a tip ring sleeve input , 1 stereo input. Not two mono inputs. That would have made things really easy.

    I'll put up a pic.
  15. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
  16. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Ah that case get an insert cable like used for PA effects insert. http://www.zzounds.com/item--HOSSTP20
  17. urb

    urb

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Sorry , its a little blurry.

    Attached Files:

  18. urb

    urb

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    So maybe the adapter is the problem?
  19. urb

    urb

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
  20. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
  21. Steveaux

    Steveaux

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    The Wilds of NW Pa.
    What the OP needs is a cable with a bridged TRS on one end.

    The shield is soldered to the sleeve, as usual, but the center hot lead goes to both the ring and the tip.

Share This Page