Help with pedals

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Guinness20, Nov 23, 2013.

1. Guinness20

Guinness20

Right, before I start this I must say that I am completely new to effects pedals, so please forgive any naivety on my part - it's by no means intentional!

Now that I can finally afford to start putting together a good pedalboard, I need to make decision about what kinds of pedals I want. I definitely want overdrive and distortion/fuzz, and I'm thinking about a couple of others as well, like a booster, compressor and wah pedal.

With regards to overdrive, there are a couple of pedals that are grabbing my interest - they are the Pigtronix Fat Drive, the Aguilar Agro and the Darkglass Microtubes B3k - even though that one does seem crazy expensive! Does anybody have any experience with these, or can tell me which are good and which to avoid?

For a distortion or fuzz pedal, I know the Electro Harmonix deluxe bass muff is highly regarded - is it really that good? I found a sound-clip of the Darkglass duality dual fuzz online, and the guy testing it says it sounds like a "robot dinosaur smashing your city". This thing is mental!!!
    I also quite like the sound of the Raygun Blue Fuzz, but I don't know too much about that pedal.
    I have absolutely no idea what the MXR M181 Blowtorch does - I know it's said it's different from eveyrtying else and sounds quite cool, but I don't really know how I'd use it.

I think I might go for the Aguilar TLC compressor pedal - am I going along the right lines or is there anything better out there?

There are a couple of booster pedals I'm curious for more info on - the hotone liftup booster, that little tiny thing, and the tc electronic spark. Any help here would be much appreciated.

As far as wah pedals go, the dunlop cry baby seem to be the best. Is that right?

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I didn't intend for it to turn into one massive waffle session. :rolleyes: