Help with speaker wattage

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by thebassbuilder, Feb 13, 2014.

1. thebassbuilder

thebassbuilder

Disclosures:
    guitar builder, Meyers Guitars
    I am thinking of building a 1x12 bass cab. I want to know when picking the high frequency speeker, does it matter what the wattage ratting is? Or does the crossover protect it? If so how do you choose the right crossover other than Xover point?
  2. phatcyclist

phatcyclist

I'm no expert, but I'd think you'd want your high frequency drivers to be capable of utilizing the wattage your bass driver could. What kind of RMS wattage are you looking to work with?
  3. thebassbuilder

thebassbuilder

Disclosures:
    My amp is a 1000 watt head. So I know no tweeter will take that.
  4. Jaco who?

Jaco who?

Power handling requirements, both thermal and mechanical decrease as frequency increases. The crossover "protects" it, in a sense, by blocking frequencies low enough to damage them. Poke around on Eminences website, the Greenboy forum, etc there's a lot to learn, and I'm just a dumb manufacturing drone that plays bass.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Vince Klortho

Vince Klortho

That is not necessary at all. There is usually not very much going in the higher frequencies with bass guitar (see this page) so tweeters do not have to handle nearly as much power as the woofer. Most handle under 100W and around 50W is common.
  7. phatcyclist

phatcyclist

Interesting. I didn't realize the frequency range of a bass was so small.
  8. thebassbuilder

thebassbuilder

Disclosures:
    Cool thanks!
  9. thebassbuilder

thebassbuilder

Disclosures:
    I also forgot to ask in my post. If I build a 1x12 cab with high frequency driver would I go with 4 or 8 ohm in both drivers?
  10. BioWeapon

BioWeapon

Like mentioned above, tweeters don't have as much power thrown at them in bass applications.