Help with Wood Identification

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by SRCRS, Dec 28, 2012.

1. SRCRS

SRCRS

I was hoping someone may be able to help me identify this. It's either Bubinga or Cocobolo. It was bought several years ago. Can't remember what it is now.

Attached Files:

2. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

3. SRCRS

SRCRS

Thanks, anything in particular make you say that?
  4. Hopkins

Hopkins Supporting Member

Looks to me like cocobolo. Does it have a sort of spicy smell to it?
  5. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

Well, the color could be either, but the wild grain and dark "landscape" lines are indicative of a rosewood.
  6. bassteban

bassteban

I'm no expert but all the half-dozen pieces of coco I've seen had a very strong red-orange tint that Im not seeing here

Edit:OK, read the whole OP; I vote cocobolo
  7. SRCRS

SRCRS

Hopkins, I'll have to go smell it, thanks for the input. In person it is not very red/orange either bassteban. I'll say this, the planks are kinda heavy for their size
  8. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

Nicaraguan and Panamanian cocobolo often exhibit subdued color compared to Mexican coocobolo, even though they are all the same species (Dalbergia retusa).
  9. bassteban

bassteban

Yeah, the pattern def says coco, almost certainly NOT bubinga. Colors often change after prolonged exposure to air. Very nice, whatever it is. Make something! :)
  10. Eric Perry

Eric Perry

I'm far from an expert, but the grain looks too wild to be Cocobolo, to my eyes.
  11. TigerInATrance

TigerInATrance

That is some of the nicest cocobolo I've seen in quite a long time... Beautiful grain and would make a stunning looking matched top and back.
  12. David Jayne

David Jayne

I'm going with Bubinga. Coco usually has straighter grain. But, make a small cut and see if it's redder inside. If so, probably Cocobolo.
  13. TigerInATrance

TigerInATrance

looks a lot like this yes? (cocobolo)
    [​IMG]

Not like this... (bubinga)

[​IMG]
  14. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD