1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Help!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by haleystrong30, Sep 16, 2013.

1. haleystrong30

haleystrong30

Hi, I've been playing bass for a few months now. A family friend was generous enough to give me his Fender Jazz Bass. I was wondering if you guys could tell me what it's worth?

It's a purple fretless Fender Jazz Bass. I looked up the meaning of the serial number, which is MN93+5 other numbers. I found out it was made in Mexico in 1999-2000. I have been looking all over the internet, looking for another purple, fretless Jazz Bass and can't find one! So I was wondering, is mine valuable? Thanks, if you can help me out. :D

Haley

2. mellowinman

mellowinman Guaranteed to break the Ice at Naughty Parties Supporting Member

It's a great bass for you to play, and worth every penny of what you paid for it. Is it valuable? "Valuable" is a relative term, but in my opinion, it IS.

3. BassTapp

BassTapp

It's not worthless by any means, purple is an uncommon colour too so extra novelty points there!

4. DigitalMan

DigitalMan

If someone gave it to you to support your budding career as a bass player, then it's resale value is the very last thing in the world you should be thinking about.

It has greater personal value than market value, which is as it should be.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Wallace320

Wallace320

That's why first basses (guitars and so on) tend to have little resale value but, if they're worth the effort, can be tweaked as passion and competence go on, diggin' niche in someone's personal roster/collection