HELP~

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by OchreOtter, Nov 28, 2013.

1. OchreOtter

OchreOtter

So I've been playing bass for 6 years now. I taught myself literally everything i know; i never took lessons of any sort. That being said, I have encountered several problems now that I'm trying to further myself in my playing as everything i attempt to play/learn is in formal sheet music, chords, arpeggios, scales. The only thing i ever really learned was songs, and some sense of scales in that i just played around with what sounded good. I need to learn this stuff to become a better bassist, but i cant take lessons, so what should i do? :confused:
  2. Jhengsman

Jhengsman

Get a method book and/or go online to someplace like studybass.com and go through the programmed method. Which you can supplement through places like this site and those offering instruction on Youtube.
  3. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

You may have most of this, if not help yourself. And yes to www.studybass.com.

Here is what got me going. The major scale box pattern and the scale degrees with that box, i.e. want to run the C major scale; place the box's R note over a C note on the 3rd or 4th string and then use the scale sequence for a major scale, i.e. R-2-3-4-5-6-7-8. Want to play the C natural minor scale? Place the R the same way, but, this time use these scale degrees within the box R-2-b3-4-5-b6-b7-8. Yep, the C natural minor scale will use the same notes as the C major scale, except it'll flat the 3, 6 & 7.

Want to play a bass line for a C major chord. Place the box's R over a C note on the 3rd or 4th string and then play the R-3-5-8 scale degrees within the box. Here is the box and the scale degree sequences for a bunch of things. See if that works for you.

Bass Patterns based upon the Major Scale box.

Major Scale Box.
    :
    G|---2---|-------|---3---|---4---| 1st string
    D|---6---|-------|---7---|---8---|
    A|---3---|---4---|-------|---5---|