HELPPLEASEEE

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Krissfritz53, Jan 11, 2013.

1. Krissfritz53

Krissfritz53

Hey I'm Kristin, I started playing bass a few months ago and im realizing that its something i was born to do. My first bass is an ibanez gsr100, but i feel like i am advancing very quickly and i have no idea what to start looking at for me to play as i become more expirienced. I have until May to decide exactly what I want, but I was hoping that someone would be able to help me out and let me know a good bass that is a good step up from the gsr100 i am playing now! thank you all in advance!
  2. NightTripper

NightTripper

It really depends on what type of sound you want, what types of music you want to play, which scale length you want, neck finish, body style, budget, etc. The best thing to do is go to some music stores and try all kinds of basses and do plenty of research and then decide. There are plenty of websites that can be good resources too. Look around on the musician's friend website and see what might interest you. Youtube can be an ok resource for finding demos and reviews. And last, but not least, talkbass also helped me decide.
  3. BillyIVbass

BillyIVbass

Disclosures:
    Gear Reviews Guitar World Online
    Your best bet is to slow down and go play every single bass you can get your hands on. Go to local shops, ask to play friends basses etc. Pay attention to the weight, the neck, how well it stays in tune, does it inspire you?

Don't worry if this takes a few months. Meanwhile continue to learn on your Ibanez.
  4. BlueTalon

BlueTalon Happy Cynic Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Turnstyle Switch
    Unless your Ibanez is a piece of junk, I wouldn't be so quick to move on from it. At this point, the most important thing is how it feels to you. Comfort equals consistency. Worry about tone later. If the neck, strings, and action work for you on that Ibinez, then stay with it.