Here I Go...Putting Blues Band Together

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by bassman2020, Jan 23, 2013.

1. bassman2020

bassman2020

I'm still learning and evolving as a bass player but can hold it down. I'm ready to go for my dream of putting together my own Blues Band doing covers at first. What are some key things I need to remember and do as I start this journey. Thanks.
  2. bluewine

bluewine

Have you ever played in a blues band?
  3. JumboJack

JumboJack Supporting Member

I-IV-V......;)
  4. Astreaux

Astreaux

+1 Gotta have the basics...
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. gjbassist

gjbassist Supporting Member

But don't make every song like that! There are so many good blues songs with more interesting bass lines, especially in the up tempo stuff.
  7. JumboJack

So very true. I was semi joking with my reply. Many, many other cool progressions.. Not to mention the many ways to mix up a I-IV-V.
  8. deepBassie

deepBassie

"Them pains, when blues pains grab you, you'll sing the blues right." - Otis Rush
  9. Phalex

Phalex Yeah, I've got the moves like Jagger. Supporting Member

I-V-I-IV-I-V is kinda fun.

I'm looking into a blues thing myself at the moment.
  10. mellowinman

mellowinman Not a Clique Member Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Just this:

Ya gotta suffer if ya wanna sing the blues...
  11. JumboJack

HOW TO SING THE BLUES
    by Lame Mango Washington (attributed to Memphis Earlene Gray with help from Uncle Plunky, revisions by Little Blind Patti D., Dr. Stevie Franklin and Kansas City Big Deaf Jimi Lincoln with special thanks to aNaLoG.MaN)

Most Blues begin, "Woke up this morning."

"I got a good woman" is a bad way to begin the Blues, 'less you stick something nasty in the next line, like " I got a good woman, with the meanest face in town."