Hey folks, questions about a Bluegrass jam.

Discussion in 'Bluegrass [DB]' started by JoeDaddio, Dec 5, 2012.

1. JoeDaddio

JoeDaddio

I just discovered a Bluegrass jam that happens a couple times a month that's relatively close to where I live. I'm very new up upright (about 5 months of playing) and totally illiterate when it comes to music (I've been playing electric bass for 11 years or so, I just [unfortunately] never bothered to learn anything about music).

Will it be worthwhile to go to this thing? I'm nervous, of course, and I know for a fact I don't have the chops or understanding to really do much, if anything.

I emailed the woman who hosts it and she said that experience level doesn't matter, just to come down. They need a bass player (seems to be a common theme).

Because of this I'm assuming that they don't have a bassist who shows up regularly (or ever). Which I feel sort of feel, probably unjustly, that it would put a lot of pressure on me. And as a total noob who isn't even sure if he'll be able to participate at all, this has got me worried (I must lead a pretty good life if this is one of my main concerns!).

Anyways, I guess I'm just looking for your experiences as new, know-nothing players going to something like this. What to expect, what not to do to look like an ass, all that stuff.

Thanks!

joe
  2. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant Supporting Member