Hi Beams on a Jazz?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Mike M., Dec 11, 2013.

1. Mike M.

Mike M.

Wow.....it's amazing what you find when you finally clean out a closet!! Found a new set of Hi Beams mixed in with a bunch of old strings today! I don't even remember when I bought this set or for which bass I was going to try them on!

So, seeing how my Jazz bass is long overdue for a string change I'm going to install them tonight. I currentley have a set of Sunbeams on and they're quite dead.

Seeing how Sunbeams and Hi Beams have a round core I would imagine the tension should be pretty equal. I've never tried Hi Beams before so I'm wondering who uses them on a Jazz bass and what's your impression?

My bass is a 2009 American Standard.

2. bskts247

bskts247

I always string my jazz bass (2010 american standard) with Hi Beams. Sometimes i'll try new strings but i seem to keep going back to the Hi Beams. They're great strings.

3. Zoomie

Zoomie Supporting Member

I prefer Sunbeams on just about any Jazz.

Hi Beams were a little zingy for me at the expense of low mids.

On a positive note, you should be able to cut someone's head off soloing the bridge pick up ! :D

Seriously, give them a go. The only way to find out if you like them is to take them for a spin.

4. mark286

mark286 Proud to be a Gold Supporting Member Gold Supporting Member

I really like Sunbeams on my jazz bass too. But I've found that once the Hi Beams break in and lose that top end zing, they stay tonally consistent for a very long time. Months and months in fact.

So Hi Beams end up lasting a lot longer with usable tone than Sunbeams which become too dead a little too fast in my experience.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. 1960jbass

1960jbass

Just put them on my 62 AVRI and I love them. Very bright. If you like the Geddy type of tone they are the way to go.

7. Mike M.

Mike M.

Cool! I'm gonna give 'em a go.