1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Hi-fi acoustic systems instead of bass combo?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by AndrewsBase, Feb 12, 2014.

  1. AndrewsBase

    AndrewsBase

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I would like to restore my bass practice.
    Since I would like to use some Logic X effects as well as backing tracks I wondered.. is it possible to use hi-fi acoustic systems (in my case big vintage JBLs) instead bass combo?

    - Warwick corvette - sound card - Logic X - Technics Amp - JBL

    Is it stupid idea?


    Any thoughts?
  2. Ric5

    Ric5 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Likes Received:
    7
    This Bose system will work.

    [​IMG]
  3. DogBone

    DogBone

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not stupid at all.

    Many professional bassists "run through the PA", using only a DI, and/or a preamp, and/or effects to get their tone.

    Scaling this same idea down to whatever volume level/venue size you need would work just as well.
  4. AaronBass4

    AaronBass4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think latency might be an issue. When you record with your DAW, are you monitoring through the DAW or are you monitoring via hardware? Typically, when you record, you would be listening to your bass via hardware (before the DAW) and the DAW would playing the existing tracks with a compensation for the latency. In my limited experience only . . . .
  5. AndrewsBase

    AndrewsBase

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not had latency issues with my keyboards and Mac. Will see..


    DogBone, thank you!
  6. AaronBass4

    AaronBass4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. Maybe you'll be OK. You would be doing a A/D conversion (bass into the DAW through the interface), signal processing in the digital space, then D/A to get out to the hifi system. That takes some time. Let me know if it works for you. I've halfheartedly tried to make this work but haven't really spent time tuning my set-up to minimize latency.
  7. AndrewsBase

    AndrewsBase

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you on Mac or Win? I had latency problems on win pc...
  8. AaronBass4

    AaronBass4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows and Linux
  9. Sid Fang

    Sid Fang Reformed Fusion Player Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's pretty much what I do in my home studio. My little Drome combo has a line out, but for practice and recording purposes, I find it simpler (and less cluttered) to run a direct box into my A/D, and the DAW D/A output into hifi near field monitors and subwoofer. Or just headphones. I spend more time practicing through that setup than I do rehearsing and gigging through my "real" rig. One thing you might want to look into is a software plugin for amp emulation. Depending on the material, I may run clean on the DAW channel, or maybe with a little compression and/or delay effect, but Amplitube's SVX virtual SVT *nails* the Ampeg sound, and NI's Guitar Rig, which is basically for guitarists and has pretty "meh" bass amp models, has some virtual effects which sound awesome on bass tracks.

    Oh, yeah, one other thing. Unless your sound card has a hi-Z (instrument) input, in addition to the usual mic/line inputs, you're going to want to get some form of DI box or bass pre-amp, particularly if you play a passive bass. Yes, you can get signal through a standard line input from a bass, but in my experience it doesn't sound very good.
  10. AndrewsBase

    AndrewsBase

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your info
    I am going to use Tri-Logic preamp and Source Audio FX....
  11. RDUB

    RDUB Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm another home studio guy. Plug in and play. And listen to any songs I'm learning. If I'm upstairs, I often plug directly into a PC and listen through the desk speakers. Or I sit in the dining room listening to my laptop and playing unplugged. Guess I like variety!

Share This Page