Hi I'm new to bass and I need some advice! :D

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by AceTar, Nov 29, 2013.

1. AceTar

AceTar

Greetings, as said in the title, yes I am a new guy in the amazing world of bass. I used to play drums but after a few months, I just got bored to it. So I decided to switch to Bass ( I have a copy of a Fender Precision Bass ). And its been a year now since I started playing it. I learned how to read Tabs and learned major and minor scales. But I just don't know how to use a scale when writing bass lines.

It's really confusing for me. I watched videos on how bass players play their bass, like Frank Bello, a bassist from a thrash metal band named Anthrax and Robert Trujillo from a metal band called Metallica. I've always wanted to play the way they play their bass. But I just don't know how. I wanna be in a metal band and write cool bass lines that fit my genre, but I just have no idea how to. And whats the right technique? I actually know how to play slapping, the way Fieldy from Korn does it but I'm not really comfortable of playing a whole song with slapping.

Please help, and if its not too much to ask, can you list down a few things that I still need to learn for me to master my bass. I don't care how many you can list as long as it would help. Your help will be very much appreciated

Note:
    The actual genre I'm planning to join in, or form is NU metal or Deathcore.
  2. Nashrakh

Nashrakh