1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Hi im New to Bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Stubs74, Dec 28, 2013.

1. Stubs74

Stubs74

Hi everyone this is my 1st post on here. Ive been playing guitar for a couple of years and thought i would give bass a go.Thinking i was just going to muck around and not take the bass serious ive actually found myself enjoying it as much if not more as playing the guitar.
    I try and get creative now and again and record basic rythm patterns with my guitar.I would really love to add a nice simple bass track to go along with my rythm guitar playing. Where do i start? Say im playing a bar of each G - D - C with my guitar.
    Hope someone can help
  2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

As you are coming over from the 6 string guitar I'm going to take you quickly into how to play your bass from some fake chord sheet music which I assume you already know how to use. We do not strum, however, play the notes of the chord one note at a time. With that in mind....... See a chord, play it's notes one note at a time to the beat of the song. Problem is some songs do not leave us enough room for all the chord notes, and then some songs give us way to much room and we are searching for things to throw into our bass lines. OK that out of the way let's get started.