How can I accomplish this?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Strat-Mangler, Feb 19, 2013.

1. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler

I'm a noob. There. I said it.

Having said that, here's what I want to do...

I wish to plug my bass into an interface which will connect to my 64-bit W7 PC. It'll be easy to setup and I won't spend the afternoon struggling to make this work. I'll play through software that'll simulate certain amps so the sound is fantastic and not sterile-sounding.

I'm looking at Focusrite interfaces and the Ampeg SVX software. The Saffire 6 USB looked very interesting, but it has USB 1.1 in the back which leads me to believe there could be some lag issues. Am I wrong? If so, I'm thinking of going for perhaps the Firewire-based Sapphire Pro 14.

What other software would you recommend for fantastic lush rich bass tones? The Ampeg tones might be rather limiting.

Perhaps reamping would be interesting, but I'm quite unclear on how to actually do it.

And lastly, can anybody explain to me what Phantom Power is, please? Every explanation I've read sounds like greek.

Thanks in advance to anybody who'll contribute anything. :D
  2. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant Supporting Member

Any interface will do what you want, as long as it has an instrument-level (aka "high impedance") 1/4" input. Most interfaces do. I prefer Tascam stuff, but as I said any interface will do what you want. I wouldn't worry about hardware latency with a USB 1.1 if all you're doing is one channel (your bass) in and two channels (stereo pair) out. I have found that these days latency ("lag") is more a function of software, and especially your computer's sound driver software, than it is hardware.