How can I install EMG pickups into a Jackson Concert Series 5 String?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jrmancha4394, Feb 5, 2014.

1. jrmancha4394

jrmancha4394

Hello, I've been thinking about replacing my stock pickups with EMG's on my bass (Active)...my only question is how would I install them to the bass which already has a 3 knob EQ preamp installed? Because EMG's instruction pdf says that there is a two volume and one tone control diagram, how would I put that on my bass? Would I have to drill another hole for the tone knob?

http://www.americanmusical.com/Item...2G00SRCHCAPN&gclid=CNWK_9zgtrwCFZRr7AodGH8A6g thats the bass I have

(I'm still kind of new at this installation stuff so please bear with me)
  2. Lownote38

Lownote38

I'm not sure I follow I guess. Your bass has more holes than you need actually. The EMG instructions are for when you don't use a preamp. The EMG BQS preamp system might get you where you need to go with the preamp part. It has the same amount of knobs and layout that you currently have. It's sold as a separate item from the pickups. http://www.emgpickups.com/accessories/bass-accessories/bass-eq-active/bqssystem.html
  3. jrmancha4394

jrmancha4394

Can i just add the pickups then and take off the preamp? Would it still have a pretty nice decent sound? i am not really satisfied with the sound of my bass...looking for a more clearer tone and Ive heard plenty of times EMG shapes a warm tone really nice
  4. jrmancha4394

jrmancha4394

Or better yet how can I install the 40s with the 3 band eq i already have installed?
  5. AdamR

AdamR Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: VF Cables, Dirtbag Clothing
    I dont see why you couldnt use the EMG 40s with the stock preamp.

Ive been considering swapping the pickups in my CMG with some 35s and adding a BQS preamp. The BQS is what comes in the $4000 Dave Ellefson sig.
  6. gpx1200

gpx1200