1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

How can I take the reins here?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Bassist4Eris, Dec 12, 2013.

1. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

First, some quick background info so you know why this is such a conundrum for me. I am not a professional musician, but a self-taught rocker, and my scene is the local original music scene, also mainly populated by self-taught rockers. But just because I don't do this for a living doesn't mean I don't take it seriously. It is much, much more than a hobby to me. Up until 2004 or so, I felt creatively stymied by the limitations of the other musicians that I had access to. This is because, when allowed to create music according to my own natural impulses, I tend to use sophisticated chord progressions influenced more by jazz than rock, and I often stray outside of the 4/4 doldrums. So my music is somewhat challenging to play, and requires certain specific skills that, while probably common amongst the pros, are rather hard to come by at my level of the game.